The Counseling Center of Wayne & Holmes Counties 2285 Benden Drive Wooster, OH 44691

CENTER UPDATE

JUNE, 2014

NEW BOARD MEMBERS ELECTED

The Counseling Center is governed by a 12-member Board of Directors that includes nine members from Wayne County and three members from Holmes County. Recently elected to serve on the Counseling Center's Board of Directors for the fiscal year starting in July are the following:

- Dennis Boen, VP Employee Benefits/Huntington Insurance, representing Wayne County
- Laurel Englehart, Int'l Global Product Marketing Manager/GOJO Industries, representing Wayne County
- Scott Rutledge, VP of Marketing/Wooster Brush, representing Wayne County
- Doug Johnston, Chief Deputy/Wayne County Sherriff's Office, representing Wayne County
- Eric Strouse, Banker/Commercial & Savings Bank, representing Holmes County

Boen, Englehart, Rutledge and Strouse are continuing members and Johnston will be starting his first term. Members join continuing Wayne County members Victor Velazquez, M.D.; Paul McGhee; Marcia Beasley; Scott Preising, CPA; and Shaun Dente, along with continuing Holmes County members Diane Stromme Mast and Sheila Hanna.

Jason Weaver, Leather Shipping Supervisor/Weaver Leather, who has completed two terms on the Board, will be leaving his position at the end of June.

Elected to serve as officers in the year beginning on July 1 were:

- Chair: Dennis Boen, Vice President/Employee Benefits, Huntington Insurance, from Wooster
- Vice-Chair: **Paul McGhee**, Administrator/Director of Physical Therapy, Wooster Orthopaedics and Sports Medicine, from Wooster
- Secretary: Diane Stromme Mast, Attorney, from Millersburg
- Treasurer: Scott Preising, CPA, Frank, Seringer & Chaney, from Wooster

PEER REVIEW

In order to assure that Counseling Center patients receive the highest quality of care, consistent with professional standards, the organization maintains an active Peer Review committee which conducts regular case reviews, provides feedback to providers, and identifies potential problems that need attention. The committee is composed of four independently licensed mental health professionals, three of whom are elected by their peers, and one of whom is appointed by the Center's Vice President/Chief Clinical Officer, **Karen Berry, Psy.D.**, who oversees all of the Counseling Center's Quality Assurance Activities. Serving on the committee for the year that begins July 1 will be Chairperson, **Sarah Bauman, M.S.W., LISW-S,** Director of Residential Services, along with **Kathy Fox, Ph.D.**, representing the Counseling/Psychotherapy Program; **Tara Willis, M.Ed., LPCC-S**, representing the Specialized Children's programs; and **Crystal Minks, M.S.W., LISW,** representing the Emergency Services Unit.

WEB SITE VISITS

An average of 270 people a day visit the Counseling Center's web site. Check us out at **www.ccwhc.org.** The most visited pages are those describing the Center's services and the staff who provide them.

Phone: (330) 264-9029 • Fax: (330) 263-7251

OUR SYMPATHIES

The Counseling Center expresses our condolences to the family of Sandy Smith, residential assistant, who passed away recently after a brief battle with cancer. Smith had been employed by the Center for nearly 5 years and was a previous participant in the Center's Leadership Academy.

The Counseling Center is supported by the Mental Health & Recovery Board, United Way, insurance, grants and patient fees